Baked Mac ‘n Cheese

Mac ‘n  cheese is definitely something we all enjoy. I mean who doesn’t like a whole lot of cheese in their pasta? Cheese girl here!

This Mac ‘n cheese recipe I got from http://www.heathersfrenchpress.com is definitely awesome. It uses pizza sauce to give it a bit more flavor than just your regular mac ‘n cheese. Since this was supposedly a pizza flavored mac ‘n cheese it asked for pepperoni but I didn’t have any on hand so I decided to use schublig (my dad’s favorite sausage!) and bacon (because who doesn’t like bacon?) instead. I also didn’t have any mozzarella on hand so I used Parmesan cheese. So it wasn’t as creamy as I would have wanted it but it was still awesome!

Would Definitely try this out again when I have mozzarella and pepperoni on hand!

12715553_10153816294021422_4589162837514734357_n

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of elbow macaroni {cooked according to the package directions}
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup AP flour
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 1/2 cup of pizza sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese {I used Parmesan cheese}
  • 1/2 cup of shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 grated Parmesan cheese
  • pepperoni slices {I used schublig and bacon}

Instructions:

  1. while the pasta is cooking, heat a skillet over med. heat
  2. add the butter, and allow to melt
  3. stir in the flour to make a roux
  4. whisk in the milk, bring to boil {whisking often} until it thickens {this takes a few minutes}
  5. Stir in the pizza sauce, and salt to taste {I did not add any}
  6. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the mozzarella and cheddar cheeses
  7. Add the drained macaroni and toss to evenly coat
  8. top with the pepperoni slices, the bread crumbs and Parmesan cheese
  9. broil until the top begins to brown {about 2 minutes}

Leave a comment